Engineering Physics

Engineering Physics (EP) is a five year Integrated M-Tech Degree (IMD) at Department of Physics, IIT (BHU). Students are being admitted in EP, since 2005 at IIT (BHU). EP is unique in its nature at every Institute. The students are offered a variety of courses in Physics and Engineering Mathematics, augmented by engineering courses from departments of Electronics and Electrical Engineering. EP course structure is designed so as to cultivate interest and motivate and guide under graduate students towards a career of R&D in Applied Physics.

Students are taught courses in Advanced Electromagnetic phenomena and Wave theory, Plasma Physics, Quantum Physics, Special Relativity, Solid State Physics, Statistical Mechanics and their engineering applications (to name a few). Students are also taught a significant number of courses in Engineering mathematics, Electronics engineering and Programming. So EP is a highly demanding course. Hence one should exercise caution while opting for EP. The faculty at Department of Physics are quite supportive and eager to guide the students. Irrespective of their discipline of study at IIT (BHU), it is a well observed fact that, one can always have ample time for their extra-curricular activities and fun.

Regarding the placement scenario, it varies from person to person. The job opportunities vary from R&D institutions, Consultancies, Software firms As EP is a multi-disciplinary course, you carve your own path. Physical Engineers are generally sought by companies which offer positions, which are generally cutting-edge R&D positions. You can go into R&D by channelling your efforts in that area. If you are interested in bagging jobs in Electronics or Software firms, you can channel your efforts, so that you can excel in the respective area. In session 2012-2013, more than 30 companies opened up for EP for a sanctioned strength of 20 students.

The Department of Physics, IIT (BHU) organises its annual Physics Convention, Jigyasa.

– Kalluru Harsha Vardhan Reddy (Batch of 2015), Dept. of Engineering Physics